Today’s current affair is based on the G20 Summit. This year the G20 summit kicks off in Japan. Many Bigshots are expected to reach in the meeting.

Here you will catch up all the information you need to know about the G20 Summit 2019, PM Modi visit to Osaka, G20 member countries, its date of formation, why is it and what is its importance.

The 2019 G20 Summit is to be held on 28 & 29 June in Osaka, Japan. It is the first time when the summit will be organised by Japan. This is the 14th such gathering of the member countries. World leaders of 19 countries plus the European Union will meet on this occasion.

This year the much of the talk about the summit includes a meeting between Donald Trump and Vladimir Putin because of alleged violations of the terms of the treaty by the Russian Federation as well as between Trump and Chinese counterpart Xi Jinping due to the ongoing trade war.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi reached in Japan today for the G20 Summit 2019. This is PM Modi’s sixth G20 summit. Upon his arrival, PM Modi was greeted by the Indian community at Swissotel Nankai Osaka, hotel in Osaka where he was welcomed with chants of 'Modi, Modi'. 

“I am visiting Osaka, Japan to attend G 20 Summit. I look forward to discussing the major challenges and opportunities faced by our world today with other global leaders. Women Empowerment, issues related to digitalization and artificial intelligence, and progress in achieving SDGs and in our common efforts to address major global challenges such as terrorism and climate change form the rich agenda of the Summit.” said by the PM Narendra Modi before leaving for Osaka Summit.

During the summit, he will meet the global leaders like US President Donald Trump, Russian President Vladimir Putin and Chinese President Xi Jinping. It is also being expecting that PM Modi to hold about 10 bilateral meetings along with JAI (Japan-America-India) and RIC (Russia-India-China)  trilateral meetings on the sidelines of the summit.

“I also look forward to host the next Russia, India and China (RIC) Informal Summit on the sidelines, and also to participate in the next informal meetings of BRICS (Brazil, Russia, India, China and South Africa) and JAI (Japan, America and India) leaders” PM Modi said.

PM Modi also said, “The Osaka Summit will also be an important stepping stone for India towards hosting the G-20 Summit in 2022 when we usher in a New India in the 75th Anniversary year of our Independence.”

What is the G20 Summit?

G20 (or Group of Twenty) is an international forum of the governments and central bank governors from 19 countries and the European Union (EU). It was founded in 1999 and has expanded its agenda since 2008. G20 has concealed the G7 summit in the last 10 years.

What are the member countries of G20?

The Member countries of G20 are:-

Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, China, The Europian Union, France, Germany, India, Indonesia, Italy, Japan, Mexico, Russia, Saudi Arabia, South Africa, South Korea, Turkey, The United Kingdom (UK), and The United States (US).

How G20 Came into Existence?

The G20 was formed at the Cologne Summit of the G7 in June 1999, and formally established at the G7 Finance Ministers' meeting on 26 September 1999 with an inaugural meeting on 15–16 December 1999 in Berlin.

Why is the G20 important?

G20 brings together systemically important industrialized and developing economies face-to-face to discuss key issues related to;
• Global Economy
• Trade and Investment
• Innovation
•  Environment and Energy
• Employment 
• Women’s Empowerment
• Development
• Health

List of G20 Summits:

S.No. Date Host Country Host City
1st 14,15 Nov 2008 United States Washington, D.C.
2nd 2 April 2009 United Kingdom London
3rd 24,25 Sept 2009 United States Pittsburgh
4th 26,27 June 2010 Canada Toronto
5th 11,12 Nov 2010 South Korea Seoul
6th 3,4 Nov 2011 France Cannes
7th 18,19 June 2012 Mexico San José del Cabo, Los Cabos
8th 5,6 Sept2013 Russia Saint Petersburg
9th 15,16 Nov 2014 Australia Brisbane
10th 15,16 Nov 2015 Turkey Serik, Antalya
11th 4,5 Sept 2016 China Hangzhou
12th 7,8 July 2017 Germany Hamburg
13th 30 Nov - 1 Dec 2018 Argentina Buenos Aires
14th 28,29 June 2019 Japan Osaka
15th 21,22 Nov, 2020 Saudi Arabia Riyadh
16th TBD 2021 Italy  -
17th TBD 2022 India  -
18th  TBD 2023 Brazil  

Note: The heads of the G20 nations met semi-annually at G20 summits between 2009 and 2010. Since the November 2011 Cannes summit, all G20 summits have been held annually.

Other details:

Related Articles:

  • Share: