The willing aspirants who want to apply for UPSC IAS Exam 2018 should check their eligibility before applying for the exam. Lets discuss complete eligibility:

  1. The candidates should be citizen of India
  2. must be subject of Nepal or
  3. must be subject of Bhutan or
  4. Tibetan Refugee who have come to India for residing permanently before 1st January
  5. he/she can be a person of Indian origin who have been migrated from East African countries of Kenya, Pakistan, Burma, Sri Lanka, the United Republic of Tanzania (formerly Tanganyika and Zanzibar), Zaire, Ethiopia Uganda, Zambia, Malawi, and Vietnam with the full intention of permanently settling in India.

Minimum Qualification

The candidates who want to apply for UPSC IAS Exam 2018 should have bachelor degree from any stream qualified from UGC approved or recognized by Parliament or the State Legislature. The candidates who are pursuing in the final year of the graduation can also apply online. But, they are required to provide the certificate of qualification while the detailed application form (DAF) will be submitted online after IAS Preliminary Examination.

Age Criteria

The candidates applying for UPSC IAS Civil Services should be between the 21 years and 32 years.

Age Limit Relaxation

Candidates’ Category Age Limitation Age Relaxation Number of Attempts
General 32 Years No Age Relaxation 06 Attempts
Other backward Class(OBC) 32 Years
3 Years
09 Attempts
Scheduled Caste(SC)/Scheduled Tribe (ST) 32 years 5 Years No bar on attempts till the age limitation
Physically Disabled Candidates (Blind, Deaf-Mute, Orthopedic) 32 years 5 Years 09 Attempts for OBC and unlimited attempts for SC and ST candidates   
Servicemen Disabled From Their Duty 32 Years

General- 5Years

OBC- 6 Years

SC and ST- 8 Years

No bar on attempts till the age limitation




Union Public Service Commission gives only a limited number of attempts to candidates to appear for the UPSC IAS Exam. The allowed number of attempts vary depending upon the category you belong to. The upper age limit also vary according to the category. Candidates should also remember that if you apply for the UPSC IAS Exam but you don't appear for the Prelims exam, then your attempt won't be counted. One attempt is counted when you appear for the Prelims Exam. Below are the details of number of allowed attempts in IAS Exam.

For General Category: 6 attempts till 32 years of age.
For OBC: 9 attempts till 35 years of age.
For SC/ST: unlimited attempts till 37 years of age.
For Physically Handicapped /disabled candidates belonging to General category: 9 attempts till 42 years of age.

Other details:

Related Articles:

  • Share: